Sunshine = Healthy Lauren (Part 1)

I don’t know why, but today was a really healthy day. That’s actually not true. I do know why. It’s because of the sunshine and warm weather.

Let me start from the beginning. I woke up with a hangover because I had run all over yesterday with Carolyn and had cocktails at no less than three swanky places. I did not spring out of bed. I did hit snooze twice. I finally rolled out of bed with my head swimming a little bit and had no interest in going to work out. I had a personal training session and if you cancel without notice, you get charged anyway and don’t get the workout. This meant that even though 5:15AM was tough to stomach, I still did it.

After chugging some water, I went to the gym and worked out with my trainer, Bryant. We did legs and abs and I worked hard. And you know what I realized? It felt amazing. The more I sweat, the better I feel. Sexy, I know. It was great because it was the first day since I started working out that we increased the weight significantly and I think the reason I got so excited was because I had a feeling of accomplishment. I also now wanted to push myself to add more and more.

At the end of it all, Bryant made me do suicide runs in the group classes room. I was so exhausted, but felt really good when I was finished. We stretched and then you know what I noticed? My hangover was gone. I had sweated it all out and felt fresh and ready to start my day. A shower and some hair drying later, I walked the block to my office without a coat on, loving the warm weather and feeling pleased with myself.

I ate egg whites with turkey for breakfast, and felt good about my choice. I liked that even though I woke up with a hangover, the gym made it disappear and I didn’t chow down on a bacon egg and cheese to nurse myself back to feeling better. I have been attempting to eat a healthier breakfast for some time now, mainly with Luna Bars which I found in the deli across the street from me in all these great flavors:

From top to bottom: Dulce de Leche, S'mores, Caramel Nut Brownie, Chocolate Dipped Coconut and Iced Oatmeal Raisin

So far, S’more’s is my favorite. I was feeling so proud of myself and didn’t want to stop the healthy streak, so I got a salad for lunch.

Avocado, Peppers, Shrimp, Cucumbers, Edamame and Low Fat Raspberry Vinegarette!

It was pretty good. I get so bored with the lunch choices around my office that sometimes I forget to even eat lunch. No bueno.

After work, I went for a run, since I was feeling good about today as a whole and it’s just so warm out. I ended my run at the food store, to get ingredients for tonight’s feast.

Since I am a blogging world newbie, I discover new blogs every day that are funny, interesting or helpful. My current favorite is The Daily Garnish. Emily’s food looks so good, and she keeps a vegan lifestyle, which is not my thing, but I know her recipes are made with fresh, healthy ingredients! After reading about a million of her blog posts, I browsed for recipes that looked delectable for me to make TBW for dinner.

I decided on Whole Roasted Brussel Sprouts (because Emily’s photo of her’s looked so appetizing!) and Polenta Pizza. We love pizza but this is a healthier, more fun version.

I made some adjustments to her recipe. After all, she tells you to put your favorite toppings on the pizza. Here is the beginning of it…

Polenta Pizza with goat cheese, spinach and prosciutto. It's in the oven. Clearly my photography skills leave something to be desired.

Brussel Sprouts roasted with olive oil and soy sauce...in the oven...fingers crossed!

Now that I have started blogging, I clearly need a good point and shoot camera. Mine broke a few months ago and I never replaced it. I guess it’s time to invest in another!

When I finally took everything out of the oven, I was impressed with myself. It all looked and smelled amazing!!!

TBW made a face when I said we were having both brussel sprouts and spinach. He needs to get his head in the healthy game. I guess it’s not really fair of me to ask him to completely change his eating habits overnight. I’m a very extreme person and go from one thing into the next quickly and in full force. I don’t know how to start being healthy. I just have to do it all the time, non-stop. I hope it sticks!

Ready to see how everything I cooked turned out?

You have to wait until tomorrow to find out. This one’s a two parter. Right now, I’m going to enjoy a nice meal with TBW.

See you tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Food and Drink, Healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunshine = Healthy Lauren (Part 1)

  1. Teddy says:

    I’m definitely trying those brussel sprouts. I know they’re so good for you, but I haven’t found a good way to cook them. Let me know how that works out. Word.

  2. Pingback: Sunshine = Healthy Lauren (Part 2) | Hungry Child in the City.

Leave a Reply

