Chinese Food is My Comfort Food.

It always has been. I don’t know why, because as a person of Italian decent, I don’t know if my mother would be too pleased with this. I have been eating really healthy during work hours the past few weeks, but today all that came crashing down when they ordered Chinese food from Hins Won Chinese Noodle Shop for the entire office for lunch in honor of the Chinese New Year, which is today.

Noodles and dumplings and chicken, oh my! Our largest conference room on the floor (seats 18 comfortably) was covered in Chinese take out. I took a photo of only one half of the table.

 

Chinese Take Out from Hins Won Chinese Noodle Shop

 
It took only 30 minutes for $300 worth of Chinese food to disappear. It was incredible. I don’t know what it is about working on a trading floor that makes people insane about food. Vultures is the only way I can think of describing them. Camii and I sat way down at one end of the table and ate while watching the madness. Here are the highlights:

  • Dumplings. Awesome. The steamed ones (I didn’t try the fried). Dough to meat ratio was spot on.
  • Shrimp and broccoli (minus the shrimp). That was some damn good broccoli. You know when it’s soaked in the brown sauce? Man that’s good. I ate a ton of that.
  • Pork. Very tender and well cooked and seasoned. I was surprised, usually I find sliced pork from Chinese restaurants dry or tough. This was exactly the opposite.
  • Flat noodles with veggies. Yeah, I don’t know the proper name. SO tasty.

I wound up getting up and helping Camii clean up a little bit, in an effort to stop forking food into my mouth. I told you guys already, I always eat too much. I’m working on it. Keeping myself busy while figuring out if I was really still hungry was a great success because guess what? Five minutes later, I was overly full and didn’t want anymore. I think making little changes like that are important, and it’s a good way to keep yourself in check without giving up something you love, like steamed pork dumplings.

In completely unrelated news, I woke up with a cold today. I don’t even know how that happened. It’s not full blown yet, but I’m already stuffy and have to blow my nose a million times. My boss told me I can’t overdose on Vitamin C, so I have been downing that stuff too. I stopped at Duane Reade this morning and bought all the appropriate accoutrements:

I hope everything here helps me get better ASAP!I have to fly to Boston tomorrow to visit some college girlfriends and celebrate some birthdays and I want to be better for it! Lots of sleep and Vitamin C should work…fingers crossed!

Speaking of birthdays, today is one of my best friends day of birth, Dee! It’s her I am going to see tomorrow, and I can’t wait. Happy Birthday Dee!

Do you have any suggestions for making a cold go away ASAP?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chinese Food is My Comfort Food.

  1. Mom #1 says:

    Yes, I have advice on you to get rid of a cold, don’t eat that miserable Chinese food! You should have had a nice bowl of homemade chicken soup like I made your brothers last night. At least order an escarole & bean soup…something LIGHT for heavens sake. Now I’ll have to nurse you back to health,

  2. TBW says:

    Umm wash your hands.

  3. My cold survival package includes lots of orange juice, dayquil, lots of food (I know feed a fever, starve a cold, but I feed both), soup, and sleep. I am super prone to colds, but I can shake them fast if I do all these things.

  4. Pingback: Mimosas, Wine, Knicks and Friends. | Hungry Child in the City.

Leave a Reply

