Superbowl Cooking

Yesterday, TBW and I hosted a small gathering of people to watch the big game. I am not a football watcher, but I like parties and it’s a good excuse to get together. In an effort to play good hostess I was up early, got in my car and headed to Fairway Market in Harlem. I adore Fairway. They have absolutely everything. They have your regular groceries (Cheerios, toilet paper, tea, crackers, chips, ect) and then they have a massive cheese counter with millions of cheese to choose from, a bread counter, a fantastically fresh and large produce section, fresh ground coffees from all over the world, a whole nuts, olives and specialty sauces section, an entire aisle of natural beauty supplies and hair care, and a huge “cold room” which is basically a massive walk in refrigerator filled with dairy products, meats, sauces and a massive butcher counter right in the middle. The entire cold room is probably bigger than most 4 bedroom apartments in Manhattan. It’s a real experience, and if you haven’t been, you must go! (And if you drive, they have their own parking lot with free parking. It’s so easy!) After running around while grabbing everything I needed TBW and I packed up the car and headed back downtown.

I had done some browsing online and in my recipe boxes and books to pick choice foods to make for our gathering. I forgot that I actually enjoy cooking until I was in the kitchen, prepping to make meatballs and brownies with fudge, and suddenly, I wished I cooked more often. I made a mental note to do so. Other than the typical chips, salsa, guacamole and pigs in a blanket, I also made brownies with cream fudge, turkey meatballs and hot toddys. My friend Teddy has a recipes page and has inspired me to do the same. Last night I made the following (Click to see the recipes!)

Everything was really, really good and pretty easy to make.

Halfway through making the Cream Fudge Brownies...

They may not look cool, but they taste great!

Giada's Turkey Meatballs.

Homemade Hot Toddy

Are you hungry yet? Because I sort of am. After watching the Packers kill the Steelers in a pretty close game, I was exhausted. My friend Jen and I wound up staying up late even though we were tired and chatted about everything in life. Sometimes it’s nice to just vent and talk about what’s going on in your life. I finally went to bed at 11:00PM, setting my alarm for 5:30AM (to hit the gym!).

What Superbowl foods are your favorites? Do you have any recipes you love?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Superbowl Cooking

  1. mom #1 says:

    Giada’s meatballs look good on Jim & Lala’s plate! It all sounds delish!

  2. Thanks! I love that plate!

  3. Mo says:

    I just started reading! LOVE your posts

  4. tspiceoflife says:

    I’m loving your meaty balls. I’m mean…your turkey meatballs. I’m definitely making those.

Leave a Reply

